Author Topic: Hubs for 12” BIS rims  (Read 278 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Guldbergdk

  • Subscribers
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Location: Denmark
Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« on: June 01, 2019, 12:28:40 PM »
I bought a set of the BIS rim (at least I think it is), they are 12” 4x190 so I assumed they would fit on my 79 original hubs, but on these there is a inner ring that index the rim to to the hub to keep them alinged. On the new rimes there are 4 extra holes, so im thinking there might be a specialhub for these?


Bar Vitelli

  • Subscriber VIP+
  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1484
  • Karma: 16
  • Location: Halifax
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2019, 01:08:29 PM »
Those are for the early air cooled models from 1972 to 1976, after that the 126 had a different type.
Every cloud has one...

Rusty's Uncle

  • Subscriber VIP+
  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2821
  • Karma: 32
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2019, 02:05:52 PM »
Those are for the early air cooled models from 1972 to 1976, after that the 126 had a different type.

They are as BV says if they are 4" wide. If they measure 3.5" then they are from a Fiat 500R

Guldbergdk

  • Subscribers
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Location: Denmark
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2019, 05:11:43 PM »
They at 4”.

Anybody know how they are suppose to index? Think ill make an adapter plate.

Guldbergdk

  • Subscribers
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Location: Denmark
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2019, 07:56:21 PM »
Bump.

Nobody has a 126 with these rims?

Rusty's Uncle

  • Subscriber VIP+
  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2821
  • Karma: 32
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2019, 08:20:41 AM »
They at 4”.

Anybody know how they are suppose to index? Think ill make an adapter plate.

What do you mean by index?

michaelodonnell500

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
  • Karma: 6
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2019, 12:10:21 PM »
I'm also not sure what you mean by index.
The 4 smaller holes are used as locating holes. On some drums there is a locating pin:
https://webshop.fiat500126.com/en/brake-system/brake-drums/brake-drum-rear-pitch-circle-190-mm-_-d-_-170-mm

These are used to align the wheel prior to bolting, but aren't designed to support or align the wheel once fitted.
I thought all of those wheels (500r or early 126) had the 4 extra locating holes.
Rust does not discriminate

Guldbergdk

  • Subscribers
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Location: Denmark
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2019, 02:47:53 PM »
Thx for the link. I was most curious about what was actually taken the load because it doesnt look like there is a clean rim on the inside of the rim where it nests with the drum/hub.

michaelodonnell500

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
  • Karma: 6
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2019, 09:25:52 AM »
I have a wheel and drum of that type sat in the garage.
I'll have a look when I get home and see how it looks
Rust does not discriminate

DEYAN IYI

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 399
  • Karma: 2
    • Bulgarian Polski FIAT 126p Fanclub
  • Location: Plovdiv/Bulgaria
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2019, 01:24:29 PM »
The Bis rims are only 4J13 with 4x98 and tires 135/70R13.

Is your hub 4x98? Do you have in mind these adapter plates?

https://webshop.fiat500126.com/en/brake-system/others/adapter-plate-f-brake-disc-tuning-kit-_s---big_-in-pairs

Guldbergdk

  • Subscribers
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • Location: Denmark
Re: Hubs for 12” BIS rims
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2019, 11:14:54 AM »
My hub is 4x190. They do fit on the old hub with drum brakes. Its just that the rims with hubcaps rest on the inner rim like in this picture

I still cant figure out how the other rims trasfers the load to the hub. Also I think I have realized part of the confusion is that they dont fit on my new brake disc kit at all.