Author Topic: 1990 Fiat 126 BIS  (Read 30450 times)

Crusader

1990 Fiat 126 BIS
« on: March 28, 2015, 12:13:15 AM »
Hi all,

As I mentioned in my Introduction thread I've copied and pasted my build thread from RetroRides so apologies as most of my comments are aimed at a universal multiple car forum, not a forum based solely for the 126. I'll be looking for as much help as possible as I'm totally new to the 126.

So I got the opportunity to go and look at this little Fiat. I travelled up to Norfolk to see this car and fell in love with it immediately. It has an original 14k miles on it, with armfuls of history to back it up. The car had been sitting in a garage for the last 9 years.
Here are the pictures from the EBay advert.

So some money was very quickly exchanged and the little Fiat was loaded straight on to the trailer.

Once I got home I had the chance to look through all the paperwork and I was very happy with just how much history came with it.

So back at the workshop and it was time to start recommissioning the little Fiat. Off came the rear panel to make work on the engine a lot easier.

Jacked it up to axle stands and removed all the wheels and drums, yes drums all round! To inspect the brakes. The news is good, the shoes and drums are good and also the wheel cylinders aren't weeping so I'm happy with them.

Then it was a case of looking at the rear clip which is in great order. It has the original dealer stamps in the plates.

Spark plugs removed, air cleaner out and sump plug removed.

The sump plug is so massive it makes up 25% of the engine.

Then it was a matter of cleaning out the oil filter which is part of the front pulley. It's a centrifugal oil filter set up. It didn't look like it had been cleaned for a long time!

Here you can see it all nicely cleaned out from crap and carbon crud!

Then I decided to drag out the interior, literally took about 10 mins!