Author Topic: 126Bis Restoration By a Beginner... (Engine Rebuild Finished)  (Read 19936 times)

naboula01

Hello dear members of Club126,
So i'll first introduce myself, i'm a 21 year old student, and for the first time of my life i bought a car. A Fiat 126Bis.
Lots of people told me that it was a bad idea, i guess it wasn't. The car is fine, but there is things to fix on it, such as the Brake, which isn't working at all, The gasoline automatic, some leak of oil and water, a recent problem on the reverse gear, a Destroyed Exhaust :), non working pointer(s), non working lights, Problem on Fuel consumption(look like burning too much), A door to fix, a door window's to fix(the same by the way), Couples of holes to fill, and that's all i think :)
Anyway this was kind of joke :P I mean i don't really an expert on cars, my knowledge is very limited. But i am very ambitious about this "project". I want to learn as much as i have fun when i'll restore-improve it.
I just look for people ready to share knowledge and experience with me, to help on my quest :)
Anyway i already started to "restore" my car, and here are the pics of it.
The first time i bought the car it was like this :

The First thing to do when i got it home was to take out the seats, and floor which was very wet

After i removed the seat's and the floor :

I discovered so many things under it! even money older than me :) :D
But everything was so much funny, everyone know that rust is a terrible thing, and i was terryfied when i saw the floor(a complete part of the steel under the seat was missing) and rust was everywhere. I don't even wnat to talk about holes...
Some of the holes are visible if looked closely :
(The Rear right side)

(Driver's left side was missing, i putted a steel plate of 4mm{Thank to my father :P})

(Driver's Side there is also one hole which isn't visible here but it was so big that my hand could get throught it!!!!)

(Passenger Side)