Author Topic: Hello from Tacoma, USA  (Read 2725 times)

Me_and_BIScuit

• Subscribers
Hello from Tacoma, USA
« on: November 29, 2019, 03:45:55 AM »
Hello there, I've received my import rhd Fiat 126 Bis this week, and I'm dealing with a few (hopefully) minor issues that I'm hoping to fix myself. First off, it's leaking oil, and seems only to do that when she stands still, but can't really confirm that. When looking down at the engine in the gap to the left near the rear wheel, the oil seems to drip from a pipe or hose of sorts. I can't tell if its oil collecting on that tube from somewhere else or of it's an actual leak at that location. I'm not a mechanic but am willing to learn and get my hands dirty if someone can give me any hints and suggestion, or better, supply me with a scan of a mechanics manual, or some tutorial specific to my problem. Other issues are: Brake warning is constantly on, even with hand brakes released, the horn doesn't sound but produces a hiss. Well hopefully someone can help... please?

PS: I will supply photos when chance permits.

Gadge

• Subscribers
Re: Hello from Tacoma, USA
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2019, 04:43:07 PM »
Hi you'll have to give more info on the leak as your description is vague. Common leaky spots on a BIS are the crank seal and spigot bearing on the clutch end and the rocker cover gasket. The brake warning light will come on if the fluid resoviour is low so check the level. If it's to the MAX mark then look at the float and see if it actually floats or if it's got a hole in it and it sinks. If all s ok there have a look at the switch at the bottom of the handbrake lever and see if it is sticky. The horn sounds like it's just bust and needs replacing. Dead easy it's located just behind the front bumper by the front Spring.

Your honing to need to learn some basic mechanics with these cars but they are simple to work in for a novice to cut their teeth on :thumbup
FOR LACK OF A BETTER NAME