Author Topic: Runing rich  (Read 6568 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

126cab

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
Runing rich
« on: January 09, 2006, 08:32:19 PM »
Hi i seem to have one of those little silly faults i cannot seem get my head round on my 500 Giardiniera estate, the car will start fine cold and tick other, then as it starts to warm up starts hunting some times flooding and then will stall if i dont put some revs on, it will then not start unless i have full throttle on, the spark plugs are black with soot, ah you are all thinking punchured float, faulty needle valve, no both checked both ok, i have striped the carb down completely and boiled the carb housing, cleaned internals and jets ect with carb clean, renewed all fuel lines cleaned and treated petrol tank, still runing rich. Any one got any ideas please as i dont know what else to do. :cry:  
,

Ps fuel pump pressure not accesive.
Fiat 126 Cabrio

ChrisRLewis

  • Administrator
  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1668
  • Karma: 25
    • Club126uk
  • Location: Swansea, UK
Runing rich
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2006, 10:15:21 PM »
Have you checked the setting for the idle adjustment screw? Also check that the choke lever is not partially on!

126cab

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
Runing rich
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2006, 10:58:13 PM »
Thanks for your quick responce m8, yes checked both and both ok,
Fiat 126 Cabrio

ChrisRLewis

  • Administrator
  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1668
  • Karma: 25
    • Club126uk
  • Location: Swansea, UK
Runing rich
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2006, 11:13:51 PM »
Have you checked the bob weights are not sticking in the distributor? It's a well known fault on the 500 and 126's it also causes an erratic tickover! It's worth taking the distributor out to check the weights and also do the points and timing at the same time.
Also worth checking valve clearances which again can cause tickover problems.

Good Luck
C
 :)

126cab

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
Runing rich
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2006, 11:24:30 PM »
Hi there,thanks for your quick reply no i have not checked bob weights or valve clearenc but have checked timing, i will check them tomorrow and let you know how i get on.
Fiat 126 Cabrio

ChrisRLewis

  • Administrator
  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1668
  • Karma: 25
    • Club126uk
  • Location: Swansea, UK
Runing rich
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2006, 11:36:47 PM »
For the bob weights take the points and top plate off the distributor, give the bob weights a good spray with WD40 then make sure they are not sticking.

C
 :)

PaulB

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Runing rich
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2006, 11:58:57 PM »
Also change the air filter - it may be clogged or just crap.

Chris Lakin

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.fiat126.co.uk
Runing rich
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2006, 12:16:00 AM »
does the BIS distributor have bob weights?

Chris
+ SKYPE USERNAME: fiat126.co.uk
+ CLUB (ENQUIRIES): fiat126club@gmail.com

Lewey

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.hstudios.co.uk
Runing rich
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2006, 12:30:12 AM »
Sure does!

fiatfsm

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 675
  • Karma: 2
Runing rich
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2006, 11:12:17 AM »
they wont affect the fuel mixture though, just the advance and retard. how many turns out is your mixture screw? also, the tiny rubber O ring on that screw perishes, and then your mixture will sef adjust!
1987 Fiat 126 FSM, alloys, clear lights, Polish tat accessories... love it!

126cab

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
Runing rich
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2006, 03:10:22 PM »
Hi Fiatfsm, thanks for your reply, the mixture screw is approx 2 1/2 turns out from fully in, (does not make any difference 1/2 turn each way) the mixture screw has no o ring on it m8, my other cars mixture screws has no o rings either. im just at a loss as what to do next appart from big hammer lol. :cry:
Fiat 126 Cabrio

Pete126

  • Administrator
  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3339
  • Karma: 35
  • Location: West Yorkshire
Runing rich
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2006, 06:48:08 PM »
Hi Cab, have you checked the petrol inlet needle valve and seat, have you checked the the float to make sure its not punctured, and have you checked the float level which is adjustable by bending the tag that rest against the inlet needle valve, this has to be set to the correct measurement to allow the petrol to be shut off at the correct level, i've tried to find out what this is but know luck, maybe someone out there has this info
Pete.      il cavallo piccolo

PaulB

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Runing rich
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2006, 07:00:39 PM »
If you are sure its not the carb (it may not be dirt - could as easily be wear), air filter or valves then check out ignition. Swap out the condenser, coil and set the points and timing.

126cab

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
Runing rich
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2006, 07:01:23 PM »
Hi Pedro126, thanks for your reply, i have checked all that you mention m8 and all seems ok however i am going to get a new valve needle just to be sure,  as a matter of interest the float setting is 7.5mm from to of carb gasket to top edge of float on the estate car.
Fiat 126 Cabrio

Pete126

  • Administrator
  • Super Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3339
  • Karma: 35
  • Location: West Yorkshire
Runing rich
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2006, 07:40:59 PM »
thanks for that info 126cab, don't know what else to suggest (scratches his head) try what the other members have suggested i've had the same symtoms on an old viva that turned out to be points and condenser, let us know how you get on,
Pete.      il cavallo piccolo

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal