Author Topic: My carb is different to original BIS 30DGF 3/150  (Read 2850 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Chris Lakin

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.fiat126.co.uk
My carb is different to original BIS 30DGF 3/150
« on: June 12, 2005, 01:22:44 PM »
I'm really confused, after yesterday with that rubbish garage, i printed off the carb pages from my manual. I managed to tune the carb witha  twist of one screw and it stoped cutting out (why couldnt the garage done that for ?35 i ask myself). I dont know if this has cured the petrol in oil problem but it idles ok now.

One thing i noticed was the carb in the manual was different to my carb  in the BIS, i looked at my engine i bought recently and cleane
dup the carb on it a little and it said weber (it was the one in the manual) and was slightly different to mine already in the car. So it appears my BIS has had a differnt carb put in at some point. Do you think i should put the original one in off the engine i bought even though it needs a good clean??

Any suggeston to which this carb might be?? it has poland written on it! I know for a fact it takes the same float as i have swaped them in the past.

Chris
+ SKYPE USERNAME: fiat126.co.uk
+ CLUB (ENQUIRIES): fiat126club@gmail.com

dajwid

  • Subscribers
  • Super Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2927
  • Karma: 14
Carb
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2005, 03:31:10 PM »
don't know if you found my post regarding your poor Bis and its sick carb.
 I will post a good second hand Bis carb to you in the next couple of days. I'm told it 100% healthy.

An very early chrismas present from my 126 with a very rusty belly to yours with a sore throat :lol:

I guess The address on the main page is ok?

Dave

Chris Lakin

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.fiat126.co.uk
My carb is different to original BIS 30DGF 3/150
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2005, 07:00:04 PM »
Dave that is VERY good of you, i have sent you an email with more detail

Thanks

Chris
+ SKYPE USERNAME: fiat126.co.uk
+ CLUB (ENQUIRIES): fiat126club@gmail.com

gorilly

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.fiat126.co.uk
My carb is different to original BIS 30DGF 3/150
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2005, 12:01:17 AM »
unlucky chris... keelers are total rip off merchants... i learnt that after they did the MOT on my old red golf and charged me ?6 for a light bulb even though i had spare bulbs in the glove box..

do you remember my white polo used to cut out like that all the time. some people said it was due to the vacume pipe. does the BIS have a vacume pipe? if its leaking air it can cause this problem.

You could try giving Gavin a call... he is quite good because he will actually talk to you about the problem and he did learn on older carb cars, might be worth a call.

problem is carbs are so delicate and specalist that most normal garages don;t really know what to do, they are all used to fuel injection which has minimal tewaking.
problems with your pc?
www.ccleaner.com (be clean!)
www.mozilla.com (get firefox for safer browsing)
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html (spybot to get rid of those nasties)

Chris Lakin

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.fiat126.co.uk
My carb is different to original BIS 30DGF 3/150
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2005, 02:32:41 AM »
Hi mike, yer the 126 does hav vacum control, i have just been reading in the classic car mag that someone is having same problem, they said its to do with leaking air. So maybe new carb will hopefull cure it!! fingers crossed.

Chris
+ SKYPE USERNAME: fiat126.co.uk
+ CLUB (ENQUIRIES): fiat126club@gmail.com

gorilly

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.fiat126.co.uk
My carb is different to original BIS 30DGF 3/150
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2005, 03:23:42 PM »
if its ust a leak in the vacume pipe it migh mean not needing a new carb!

Also for all cars with carbs different versions were fitted. there is normally a code like E2E or somthign similar. have another look at the carb see if you can see any more codes...

wow didnt read Dajwids post... very nice of him! Well done mate!

chris i will drop round that guide to restoring / cleaning carbs so you can make it looks like new before it goes on!
problems with your pc?
www.ccleaner.com (be clean!)
www.mozilla.com (get firefox for safer browsing)
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html (spybot to get rid of those nasties)

Chris Lakin

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.fiat126.co.uk
My carb is different to original BIS 30DGF 3/150
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2005, 05:59:48 PM »
HI Miike , yer i cant find any other versions of my carb, its a bit weird, Its very good of Dajwid to do that.

Mike that carb manual you have got would come in very handy thanks, its best to do a good job properly. Someone suggested the petrol in oil could be a a result of a blown gasket in the manifold, or warping. Im still hoping its the carb though.

Mike ive taken u and dean off admin for a short while, we are  trying to transfer forum onto my webspace.

Chris
+ SKYPE USERNAME: fiat126.co.uk
+ CLUB (ENQUIRIES): fiat126club@gmail.com

Chris Lakin

  • Super Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.fiat126.co.uk
Vacum tubes???
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2005, 10:07:03 PM »
I have been thinking i have never been too sure where these vacum tubes go onto the carb, there is so many to fit. I think maybe my carb faults maybe due to this!!! Can anybody take a picture of theirs with the airfilter pan off? i would greatly appreciate any help with this.

The manual is no help!!! it doesnt show it at all!!

regards

Chris
+ SKYPE USERNAME: fiat126.co.uk
+ CLUB (ENQUIRIES): fiat126club@gmail.com

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal